On Stupidity

I often get frustrated and call out a fact with a level of brutal honesty that it shatters the fragile little brains of most people. Sometimes I feel bad for them. But I always end up arguing with them until I am blue in the face. Because rarely does anyone argue the facts with me, they argue that I am not sensitive enough or that I need to be nicer.

I randomly stumbled across a story where a woman was walking home from a bar. She was nearly three times the legal limit to drive. She didn’t drive home, because she lived nearby. However, had she been at a bar across town, she would’ve ended up killing multiple people, because she couldn’t even walk home successfully. Rather than walk on the solid road, she decided to walk through a frozen wooden marsh.

She passed out and died of hypothermia. One point for Darwin.

Now, most people visceral reaction is that I am insulting the deceased and in our fragile society that is a no-no. The tragedy is that this woman made this decision as a mother. She now leaves two young children motherless.

This story infuriates me, mainly because of how apologetic our society is toward drinking and…whatever decision comes afterward. Except, I guess, if you drive drunk. When you drive drunk, and kill someone — then you are going to pay. There are people in this world who want nothing more than to have children and to think that there are parents out there that treat their kids as a burden and an afterthought should make anyone sick.

That is called having a heart.

About Creed

I often ramble. What some people can eloquently say in 10 words, when most people would take 25, I will intentionally take 100. It's always been this way. This blog is mainly to spare my friends, family, and co-workers from my epic long rants.
This entry was posted in News, Rants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

